Pro Plan logo

Ratings & Reviews

Pro Plan Dog Review Hero
Pro Plan User Recommended Icon
97%

User Recommended

Pro Plan Average Rating Icon
4.73

Average Rating

Pro Plan Total Reviews Icon
9,475

Total Reviews

Pro Plan Products Reviewed Icon
85

Product Reviewed

Purina Pro Plan Dog Food Reviews

Reviews
Rating Details
Personal Information
No Spaces Or Numbers
Purchase Details
Perks

By clicking submit I certify that I am at least 18 years of age and have read and agree with the Terms & Conditions, Privacy Policy and About Our Ads.

Filter
802 Results
Edit
Purina Pro Plan BRIGHT MIND Adult 7+ Chicken & Rice Formula Dry Dog Food
  • 5/5
  • MoonbeamWhippets
  • July 12, 2015
Loyal pet owner from Richlands, NC, United States

So far, Love it

I started my almost 12 year old Whippet on this food just a week ago. He was waking us up 3-4 times a night to go out and non responsive to us leaving or coming home. Now he sleeps all night and greets us leaping around with a toy when we come home. He also would take along time to eat his previous food, he eats every bite of food now and extra if I give it to him. Thank you Purina for giving me my dog back. ~tears~

Was this review helpful?
Report
Purina Pro Plan BRIGHT MIND Adult 7+ Chicken & Rice Formula Dry Dog Food
  • 3/5
  • Vettechhero12
  • November 20, 2015
Loyal pet owner from Milwaukee, WI, United States

Its good, but not amazing

I think that its a quality food. My dog enjoys it, but she is a very active old lady so there was no dramatic change in her. This would have gotten the full 5 stars if they offered the large bags...

Was this review helpful?
Report
Purina Pro Plan BRIGHT MIND Adult 7+ Chicken & Rice Formula Dry Dog Food
  • 3/5
  • K9sRmykids
  • December 27, 2015

my dogs like it

My three 10-year-old Border Collies were and are energetic and bright, so no real change was noticed since feeding this food for the past few months. I expect it is quality food due to the science behind it. I wish the kibble size was larger (looks like cat food), and that it came in larger bags.

Was this review helpful?
Report
Purina Pro Plan BRIGHT MIND Adult 7+ Chicken & Rice Formula Dry Dog Food
  • 4/5
  • GATORDVM
  • February 19, 2016
Loyal pet owner from Cincinnati, OH, United States

Making a Difference

I am Veterinarian who owns an 11 year old mixed breed. My dog Kirra has been a roller coaster as far as lethargy and energy. Since changing to this diet (7 months now) I have noticed a considerable increase in energy and willingness to play and mess with her "sisters" (2 year and 8 year old Aussie). Both Kirra and the older Aussie enjoy the food. Overall great product with which I believe have had great results. I do wish it came in the bigger bag. As far as a price point it is approximately 5 dollars cheaper and a little high for a non-prescription diet (why this is a 4 star review), although delivery to the door step is awesome and easy.

Was this review helpful?
Report
Purina Pro Plan BRIGHT MIND Adult 7+ Chicken & Rice Formula Dry Dog Food
  • 5/5
  • Roo b
  • February 22, 2016
Loyal pet owner from Portland, OR, United States

It makes my old dogs frisky!

We have 2 small, old lady dogs: 10 and 12. They both seem more frisky and playful when eating this food vs other senior diets

Was this review helpful?
Report
Purina Pro Plan BRIGHT MIND Adult 7+ Chicken & Rice Formula Dry Dog Food
  • 4/5
  • PaigeRS
  • March 29, 2016
Loyal pet owner from Houston, TX, United States

Improvement

I am a Vet Assistant with a 7 year old rat terrier who had been pretty lazy the last few years but since I started feeding this she has much more energy during the day. She used to sleep for about 10 hours a day but now she constantly wants to play. My only complaint is that she isn't crazy about the taste. I have to talk her into eating it and add water.

Was this review helpful?
Report
Purina Pro Plan BRIGHT MIND Adult 7+ Chicken & Rice Formula Dry Dog Food
  • 4/5
  • Bev619
  • April 1, 2016
Loyal pet owner from San Diego, CA, United States

Good food, why the tiny kibble?

My 9 year old Weim cross enjoys the food. I feed it to him preventatively so not expecting miracles. But why the cat sized kibble and the tiny bags? We go through at least 2 bags a month.

Was this review helpful?
Report
Purina Pro Plan BRIGHT MIND Adult 7+ Chicken & Rice Formula Dry Dog Food
  • 5/5
  • CRvettech
  • April 12, 2016
Loyal pet owner from Canyon Lake, TX, United States

Awesome!

I am so impressed with my Sally girl(13-14 yrs young!) I can really tell a difference in her alertness! All though her arthritis slows her down a lot, she is as alert as ever! The girl knows every squirrel within a acre radius!!!! She is on adequan and metacam with the occasional tramadol. But since on the 7+ bright mind she has lost about 5-6 lb and is more energetic! I know longer feel the need to give her glyco chews daily, which was an extra cost. I had previously had a hard time with her weight because her arthritis kept her from moving as much. I feel the food has stimulated her aging mind giving her a boost of a young pup, which has resulted in more exercise. The glucosamine and low calorie makeup has encouraged her joint health and weight loss! I am so impressed!!!! I also previously struggled to find a food for 3 dogs of 3 different weight ranges and adult/senior ages. This food has been the answer!!!!

Was this review helpful?
Report
Purina Pro Plan BRIGHT MIND Adult 7+ Chicken & Rice Formula Dry Dog Food
  • 5/5
  • Carolyn
  • April 20, 2016
Loyal pet owner from Florida

It really does work!

Several months ago, I switched my 14yr old chihuahua mix to Purina Bright Mind. I was skeptical & I figured if it didn't work, as the company claimed, I'd be out a few dollars. Well...about 5 or 6 weeks later, I noticed a change in him. He had become more engaged & interactive. I was (& still am) VERY pleasantly surprised. As an unexpected "plus", he's seeing better, too.

Was this review helpful?
Report
Purina Pro Plan BRIGHT MIND Adult 7+ Chicken & Rice Formula Dry Dog Food
  • 5/5
  • kathy rvt
  • December 1, 2016
Loyal pet owner from Fort Collins, CO, United States

Big Change

Started our 11 year Blue Heeler on this after he was very lethargic and had to urinate several times at night (as in 2 and 4 in the am). He has been doing great he is helping with the cows again and has all kinds of energy even bringing us toys to throw for him!! He is also sleeping through the night woot woot :)

Was this review helpful?
Report
Purina Pro Plan BRIGHT MIND Adult 7+ Chicken & Rice Formula Dry Dog Food
  • 5/5
  • BethanieIM
  • January 14, 2017
Loyal pet owner from Longmont, CO, United States

11yr old is now a 2 yr old again!

I have a 15 year old sheltie and a 11year old sheltie. I was a skeptic about the marketing, but it does work! It's important to remember though that this a senior diet formulated for senior dogs who NEED to become more brighter and energetic. If you're senior dog is all ready bright and energetic, you will likely not see a change. My 15 year old Sheltie is from a line of very long living dogs (his mother is 19 and plays chuck it in the yard every day!) and has always been bright, energetic, and a great mover. So this food had no affect on him. However, my 11yr old Sheltie who was a gift from my family from most likely a back yard breeder, was really starting to slow down. After 1 month on this food he was chasing my feet when I went to go feed horses again, and playing with the other dogs, playing ball, and looking great! He jumps on the bed and couch to cuddle with me too! I recommend this product to dogs who NEED to have a little more energy and brightness to them!

Was this review helpful?
Report
Purina Pro Plan BRIGHT MIND Adult 7+ Chicken & Rice Formula Dry Dog Food
  • 4/5
  • obobcvt
  • April 14, 2017
Loyal pet owner from Colorado, United States

It does work!

I'm a car salesman's daughter, so I know a sales pitch when I see it. I started feeding this when it came out all most a year ago to my 11 yr old m/n Sheltie. He has just been slowing down and being less social and I attributed it to age. Less than 3 weeks on this food he was running out to the barn to go feed with me again, playing with the other dogs, and ready to take on the world (from a distance... because you know he's a sheltie haha) again!

I will give it 4 stars today because I would like a bigger bag than a 30# bag. The kibble is smaller but mine seem to like it that way. They do make a large breed option so when the GSDs get older I assume that is what I will use.

Was this review helpful?
Report