October is Domestic Violence Awareness Month

Nearly half of all domestic abuse victims delay leaving because they don’t want
to leave their pet behind, yet as few as 10% of domestic violence shelters accept pets.
The Purple Leash Project is working to change that.

pro plan logo

Ratings & Reviews

Pet Age Calculator Header

Purina Pro Plan Reviews

Pro Plan User Recommended Icon
96%

User Recommended

Pro Plan Average Rating Icon
4.6

Average Rating

Pro Plan Total Reviews Icon
22,618

Total Reviews

Pro Plan Products Reviewed Icon
186

Product Reviewed

Reviews

Rating Details
Personal Information
No Spaces Or Numbers
Purchase Details
Perks

By clicking submit I certify that I am at least 18 years of age and have read and agree with the Terms & Conditions, Privacy Policy and About Our Ads.

Purina Pro Plan Adult Giant Breed Chicken & Rice Formula
  • GreatDaneMom
  • June 5, 2020
Loyal pet owner from Souderton, PA

Great Food - Can’t Find It anywhere in stores....

Monthly supporter of this product for my Great Dane, however there are NO local stores within an hour of my house who currently have this available. Ive contacted several different retailers. Can someone from Purina please send me an update on this? Really DO NOT want to switch anything. Been using Pro Plan for all of my Danes for over 10 years. Thanks!

  • Quality
    5
    4
    3
    2
    1
    Rating:5 out of 5 stars
  • Value
    5
    4
    3
    2
    1
    Rating:5 out of 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
Purina Pro Plan Adult Giant Breed Chicken & Rice Formula
  • Danedaddy
  • April 14, 2020
Loyal pet owner from Virginia

Great Dane approved!

I raised my Great Danes on Eagle Pack Giant Breed Dry/Canned food and switched them over to their adult formula and after a couple of years my female Great Dane developed dry skin problems and our vet suggested switching foods so, I decided to try this food along with the Focus large breed canned food, and I'm very pleased with the results.
The dry skin is gone and they are healthy and thriving on Purina Pro Plan!

  • Quality
    5
    4
    3
    2
    1
    Rating:5 out of 5 stars
  • Value
    5
    4
    3
    2
    1
    Rating:5 out of 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
Purina Pro Plan Adult Giant Breed Chicken & Rice Formula
  • SantaFeGal
  • April 13, 2020
Loyal pet owner from Los Alamos, NM

ProPlan Focus Giant Breed

I have never seen my 5yr old Great Dane scarf his food like he does this! He loves it and it didn't upset his tummy when we switched brands

  • Quality
    5
    4
    3
    2
    1
    Rating:5 out of 5 stars
  • Value
    5
    4
    3
    2
    1
    Rating:3 out of 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
Purina Pro Plan Adult Giant Breed Chicken & Rice Formula
  • Rhyly
  • March 25, 2020
Loyal pet owner from IL

Neapolitan Mastiff owner

I co-own a future show Neapolitan female and this is the food I feed her. It's so important for giant breeds to not grow too fast, and this food is perfect for that. She loves the food and loves the larger kibble. It is so hard to find giant breed food as many companies believe large and giant breeds have the same needs; that is simply not the case. My only qualm is it's sometimes hard to find in stores and that it only comes in 34 pounds. I would love to see a 50 pound bag. My girl goes through this in about a month, so I'd love bigger options.

  • Quality
    5
    4
    3
    2
    1
    Rating:5 out of 5 stars
  • Value
    5
    4
    3
    2
    1
    Rating:5 out of 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
Purina Pro Plan Adult Giant Breed Chicken & Rice Formula
  • hndotson7866
  • March 9, 2020
Loyal pet owner from Stigler OK

Awesome product

My dog loved this dog food! I would definitely try this kind again. Thanks for the awesome product

  • Quality
    5
    4
    3
    2
    1
    Rating:5 out of 5 stars
  • Value
    5
    4
    3
    2
    1
    Rating:5 out of 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
Purina Pro Plan Adult Large Breed Chicken & Rice Formula
  • DPrime
  • May 28, 2020
Loyal pet owner from Southern California

Larger sized kibble

I transitioned my Golden puppy to this from the puppy formula. She is doing great on it. Though she’s a small girl and seems to prefer a smaller sized kibble. So I am transitioning her to Pro Plan Sport. I’m very happy with Pro Plan formulas. This food is great if your dog likes a larger sized kibble.

  • Quality
    5
    4
    3
    2
    1
    Rating:5 out of 5 stars
  • Value
    5
    4
    3
    2
    1
    Rating:5 out of 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
Purina Pro Plan Adult Large Breed Chicken & Rice Formula
  • Paris2822
  • May 15, 2020
Loyal pet owner from Michigan

Excellent

This dog food has done wonders for my 2 dogs. I get compliments everywhere we go on how beautiful and shiny their coats are.

  • Quality
    5
    4
    3
    2
    1
    Rating:5 out of 5 stars
  • Value
    5
    4
    3
    2
    1
    Rating:5 out of 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
Purina Pro Plan Adult Large Breed Chicken & Rice Formula
  • Toro
  • March 28, 2020
Loyal pet owner from Texas

“...look at her coat, what are you feeding her?”

My ridgeback loves this dog food! We had a neighborhood veterinarian come by for drinks and the first thing she said was, “Wow, look at her coat, what are you feeding her?” I knew I had a great product on my hands.

  • Quality
    5
    4
    3
    2
    1
    Rating:5 out of 5 stars
  • Value
    5
    4
    3
    2
    1
    Rating:5 out of 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
Purina Pro Plan Adult Large Breed Chicken & Rice Formula
  • RescueMama420
  • March 20, 2020
Loyal pet owner from Conroe Texas

My dogs love it and look so healthy.

They love dinnertime and go absolutely crazy for this food. They’re also looking good - they’ve filled out in their lean spots and their coats are shiny!
Will continue to use this food!

  • Quality
    5
    4
    3
    2
    1
    Rating:5 out of 5 stars
  • Value
    5
    4
    3
    2
    1
    Rating:4 out of 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
Purina Pro Plan Adult Large Breed Chicken & Rice Formula
  • Tori101
  • February 26, 2020
Loyal pet owner from Atlanta, Georgia

Perfect Diet!

My dogs had terrible Diarrhea when they were on Hills food. So their Veterinarian recommended this when they were puppies, of course they had large breed puppy but now that they are 3,2,& 1 We have them on the Large Breed Adult and it’s absolutely amazing. We have no problems with their stool, and they immediately scarf it down. We don’t ever plan on changing their diets!

Was this review helpful?
Purina Pro Plan Puppy Chicken & Rice Formula
  • Cocolicious
  • May 19, 2020
Loyal pet owner from OH

Happy puppy happy life

Our cockapoo loves it. From packaging to kibbles you can tell it is quality product

  • Quality
    5
    4
    3
    2
    1
    Rating:5 out of 5 stars
  • Value
    5
    4
    3
    2
    1
    Rating:4 out of 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
Purina Pro Plan Puppy Chicken & Rice Formula
  • RyloOwner
  • May 15, 2020
Loyal pet owner from Birmingham, AL

Listen to your first mind

First let me start off by telling you how much I am so relieved and satisfied with this product. I picked up a puppy which I thought was old enough to leave mom but when I arrived the owner told me the puppies were only 3 weeks old and she is overwhelmed during this Pandemic. She's an elderly lady by the way. So I took Rylo home and started giving him a milk replacement on top of a bag a food i picked up along the way which was allegedly the best brand. The next day Rylo wouldn't eat and had watery stool so I took him to the emergency vet. They tested him and everything was negative. They then proceeded to give him a high protein purina rx can of food which he ate pretty well. Long story short, I took him home and the next day I tried given him the rx food mixed with softened food. He ate a little and wouldn't eat anymore. He continued to have watery stool so I tossed out the puppy food I purchased and bought a huge bag of this brand.(I usually a loyal Purina fan). I soften a bowl for him and fed it to him one by one by hand at first and he immediately perked up and wanted more. His bowels are getting better now. BTW he is a small breed and weighs a pound. I was losing hope but as always Purina came to the rescue.

  • Quality
    5
    4
    3
    2
    1
    Rating:5 out of 5 stars
  • Value
    5
    4
    3
    2
    1
    Rating:5 out of 5 stars
Was this review helpful?