pro plan logo

Ratings & Reviews

Pet Age Calculator Header

Purina Pro Plan Reviews

Pro Plan User Recommended Icon
96%

User Recommended

Pro Plan Average Rating Icon
4.64

Average Rating

Pro Plan Total Reviews Icon
18,454

Total Reviews

Pro Plan Products Reviewed Icon
185

Product Reviewed

Reviews

Rating Details
Personal Information
No Spaces Or Numbers
Purchase Details
Perks

By clicking submit I certify that I am at least 18 years of age and have read and agree with the Terms & Conditions, Privacy Policy and About Our Ads.

Purina Pro Plan Adult 7+ Bright Mind Large Breed Chicken & Rice Formula
  • Bumbles Mom
  • May 21, 2020
Loyal pet owner from MI

Best dog food

Pro Plan is the best! My boxer mix Maverick is now 10.5 and we started on the “natural” diets but they didn’t deliver. He has been on Sport intermittently throughout his life and is now on Bright Mind and he is just better on Pro Plan diets! More energy, firm stool, he loves the taste. He gets less food than on a “natural” diet grain free or with grain. And everything is better!

  • Quality
    5
    4
    3
    2
    1
    Rating:5 out of 5 stars
  • Value
    5
    4
    3
    2
    1
    Rating:5 out of 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
Purina Pro Plan Adult 7+ Bright Mind Small Breed Chicken & Rice Formula
  • CattandPetey
  • May 14, 2020
Loyal pet owner from Kentucky

Bright Minds for small dogs over 7

My 10 yr old Shitz Zhu has much more energy since he started eating this. He loves it! He has no teeth left, but still chomps down on this. Great food!

  • Quality
    5
    4
    3
    2
    1
    Rating:5 out of 5 stars
  • Value
    5
    4
    3
    2
    1
    Rating:5 out of 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
Purina Pro Plan Adult 7+ Bright Mind Small Breed Chicken & Rice Formula
  • larson119
  • April 2, 2020
Loyal pet owner from VA

My Dog Is Back!

My 17 year old Chihuahua all of the sudden had a severe mentation & personality change. He went from being a gentle, playful, & happy dog to a grumpy, "bump on a log" who never wanted to play dog that started frequently snapping at us. He had NEVER done before! I talked to my veterinarian & she recommended Purina Pro Plan Bright Minds. I kid you not, within 2 weeks we began seeing positive changes in dog. After a month, it was like my old dog was back but even more playful than before. After 3 months, he rarely snaps, he's happy & plays like he's 4 years old instead of 17. He's zooming around the house & even doing "donuts & puppy crawls" again!
I am so very grateful. Thank you Purina!

larson119

  • Quality
    5
    4
    3
    2
    1
    Rating:5 out of 5 stars
  • Value
    5
    4
    3
    2
    1
    Rating:5 out of 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
Purina Pro Plan Adult 7+ Bright Mind Chicken & Rice Formula
  • KWilson
  • May 13, 2020
Loyal pet owner from Umatilla, FL

Such an improvement!

My corgi, Miles, just turned 15 on 5/5/2020. He was super sharp until about 2 years ago and then we noticed a steady decline mentally. He was really showing signs of "doggy dementia" and it was concerning. He was anxious, constantly pacing around at night. He was getting lost in the house and stuck in corners. He was not really interested in his toys anymore and started to have accidents in the house. I tried a few supplements and while I noticed a small amount of improvement at first, it quickly faded. I was starting to get concerned I may have to euthanize him due to his anxieties and mental state even though physically he was still doing so well. My vet recommended this food to us and we decided to give it a try. About a month in, I noticed he wasn't getting "lost" as much in the house. By three months, he began to remember where the sliding door was to go out and was even "asking" to go out again. While he doesn't play like he used to, he started to pick up and carry around his favorite toys again. He is sleeping through the night now, and the pacing has lessened. I truly feel that this food brought my dog back to me. It was devastating to see him be able to run around in the yard with all this energy but declining so badly mentally. I feel like this food could potentially give me years with my dog I wouldn't have had. While I know that I will most likely have to put him on a medication for anxieties as he gets older, I am so happy at the difference this food has made all on it's own. Thank you so much for this product.

  • Quality
    5
    4
    3
    2
    1
    Rating:5 out of 5 stars
  • Value
    5
    4
    3
    2
    1
    Rating:4 out of 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
Purina Pro Plan Adult 7+ Bright Mind Chicken & Rice Formula
  • Boomer
  • March 21, 2020
Loyal pet owner from Toledo Ohio

Best on the market for older dogs.

While others claim, Proplan Proves. My dogs are important to my business. They also are my show dogs and demos for dog training. It is important to me to take the best care of my animals. Now with the way my dogs are loved at the Vet Clinic it proved to them the difference it makes. It is now one of the top over the counter foods the clinic sells.

Was this review helpful?
Purina Pro Plan Adult 7+ Bright Mind Chicken & Rice Formula
  • Cojo
  • February 17, 2020
Loyal pet owner from Michigan

Really makes a difference!

I was somewhat skeptical if this food would make a difference or not but thought I would give it a try. Our 11 yr old lab has been less engaged lately and has had lower energy. This food has really helped changed that. She gets up to greet us consistently now and also romps and plays outside. She looks shiny and healthy and doesn’t have flakes which she always gets in the winter. She eats 2 cups a day and stays at a healthy weight. Her stools are small and firm which is great. Very happy with this food!

  • Quality
    5
    4
    3
    2
    1
    Rating:5 out of 5 stars
  • Value
    5
    4
    3
    2
    1
    Rating:5 out of 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
Purina Pro Plan Adult 7+ Complete Essentials Shredded Blend Chicken & Rice
  • KacieS
  • May 5, 2020
Loyal pet owner from 74525

Make the Switch!

My dogs love this food! I have 6 dogs and 5 of them eat this. The other eats Purina for 7+ dogs. The quality of ingredients is what I look for. Just read the package and you’ll see that it is one of the best foods you can give your baby.

  • Quality
    5
    4
    3
    2
    1
    Rating:5 out of 5 stars
  • Value
    5
    4
    3
    2
    1
    Rating:4 out of 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
Purina Pro Plan Adult 7+ Complete Essentials Shredded Blend Chicken & Rice
  • Emmie27
  • February 10, 2020
Loyal pet owner from Milwaukee, Wisconsin

She loves it!

Purina never disappoints! Our 11 year old Labradoodle is still active & fit and we want to keep her that way. Our vet recommended “Senior” dog food and speaks very highly of Purina Brand. Their website helped me find a good match & Rigby loves it!

  • Quality
    5
    4
    3
    2
    1
    Rating:5 out of 5 stars
  • Value
    5
    4
    3
    2
    1
    Rating:5 out of 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
Purina Pro Plan Adult 7+ Bright Mind Large Breed Chicken & Rice Formula
  • Mistyphae
  • February 3, 2020
Loyal pet owner from Erin Ontario

Amazing results

My 11 yr old golden was terrified of fireworks, gun shots and thunderstorms and would pant and shake for hours. It was so hard to witness. I put both my pups on Bright Minds and now my 11 year old does not react to any of the above! It’s truly a miracle and I wish I had started her sooner. Great food and both my goldens have lovely coats.

Was this review helpful?
Purina Pro Plan Adult 7+ Bright Mind Chicken & Rice Formula
  • Krystal11
  • January 22, 2020
Loyal pet owner from Union grove, nc

Great for my 15 year old!

I started my dog on this last year around June my jack Russell terrier is 15 years old and a very very picky eater, I switched him from 4health from tractor supply that my vet told me to stop feeding him and I was looking for something that would fit his age and he loves this dog food and it has helped overall I think with his sharpness and coat and I will continue feeding him this cause it works!!

Was this review helpful?
Purina Pro Plan Adult 7+ Bright Mind Large Breed Chicken & Rice Formula
  • SMjr
  • December 6, 2019
Loyal pet owner from NJ

We want the Turkey Formula back!

What have you done with the turkey formula? We want it back!!! It is impossible to find a food, dry or wet, that has all this turkey formula had to offer: no wheat, corn or soy. Limited legumes in ingredients and proven cognitive health benefits - seen in our dog. Sad to see this food discontinued. Now cant find it anywhere! The Chicken formula is not the same, in the sense that while it has the same botanical oils the quality of ingredients is not equal to that of the Turkey formula.

I'd love to see this formula come back. Purina, the strong reviews are proof that this dog food shouldn't be dismissed for our furry senior kids.

  • Quality
    5
    4
    3
    2
    1
    Rating:5 out of 5 stars
  • Value
    5
    4
    3
    2
    1
    Rating:4 out of 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
Purina Pro Plan Adult 7+ Bright Mind Chicken & Rice Formula
  • RaeRenee
  • November 29, 2019
Loyal pet owner from Fargo, ND

Does what it says, and so much more!

I’ve been feeding this to my American Eskimo dog for a little shy of a year. She’s now 11 years old. She had always been picky with food since I adopted her when she was 8. She’s been eating this food very well. I do think she definitely seems brighter and more alert. In fact, we’ve recently started working on some more trick training which I never would’ve thought possible. Everyone comments on how my Daisy seems like a “permanent puppy” and I’d have to agree.

However, the biggest change that I’ve noticed since feeding her this food is that her tear stains around her eyes have virtually vanished. I fought with trying to keep them away for a few years and eventually gave up. After a few months on this food I noticed that they were nearly gone, with no other effort on my part. Previously, in the spring and summer when she’d lick her feet (she has seasonal allergies that time of year) her feet would get stained pink. This summer she still licked her feet, but there was no staining! This food must help regulate her pH better, because this is the only change and WOW, what a difference it’s made!

  • Quality
    5
    4
    3
    2
    1
    Rating:5 out of 5 stars
  • Value
    5
    4
    3
    2
    1
    Rating:5 out of 5 stars
Was this review helpful?